GBRIA's 2018 Contractor Safety Excellence Awards


About the Awards

The Greater Baton Rouge Industry Alliance (GBRIA) Contractor Safety Excellence
Awards have been a staple in the Baton Rouge area since 1996. The awards
banquet is an opportunity for GBRIA member sites to nominate those companies
who’ve performed work in their facilities and committed themselves to nothing less
than safety excellence in their operations. To be nominated for such an award is a
great honor and a show of recognition of the great strides contractors have made
to keep their workers safe and families whole.

In 1996, when the awards banquet concept was made a reality it was by the work
of GBRIA’s Board of Directors, but specifically by Mr. Hal Ginn. It is because of
Mr. Ginn’s vision for safe workplaces that we can come together and celebrate
safety success stories. Thus, the creation of the coveted Hal Ginn Award. The
finalist for this award come from each division winner, and ultimately the company
that shines the brightest takes home this award for excellence.


New for 2018

The Innovative Practice Award, which aims to drive creativity and innovative
solutions to health and safety obstacles. Nominees for this award will be invited to
present their innovative practices at an upcoming event, so we can “pay it forward”
and keep driving down the potential for injuries.

Also new of 2018 are changes to our contractor categories. This year we are
breaking out the Heavy Construction Categories into three distinct categories:
Civil Construction, Commercial Construction, and Crane & Rigging. These
categories will include all size companies and will not be divided by size.

Lastly, you'll notice the absence of multiple recognition awards this year. In an
effort to highlight the best of the best, the SHS Committee has decided to award
the top three (3) contractors in each division. Each nominated company, will,
however, be recognized from the podium for their efforts.

We hope this guide is helpful as you prepare for the 2018 GBRIA Contractor
Safety Excellence Awards and look forward to seeing you at the banquet in


To be eligible for consideration at the 2018 GBRIA Contractor Safety Excellence
Awards contractors must:

Be nominated by a GBRIA member site by January 24th, 2018 and:

  • Have a current GBRIA or Houston Business Roundtable (HBR) Contractor Safety Audit on file within the past three (3) years (January 01, 2015 – January 31, 2018)
  • Complete the Nominated Contractor Application Form by February 7th, 2018, which will require the following information for company-wide and site-specific:
  1. Company category (see below)
  2. Company NAICS code
  3. 2017 - 2015 man-hours worked
  4. 2017 – 2015 number of OSHA citations
  5. 2017 – 2015 number of worker’s compensation claims
  6. 2017 – 2015 OSHA recordable cases
  7. 2017 – 2015 OSHA recordable rates
  8. Most current Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Total Case Incident Rate (TCIR)
  9. Average TCIR for your NAICS code
  10. Indication of which years data used for above TCIR 
  11. List community involvement activities performed in 2017
  12. List partnerships your company has initiated or continued in 2017 (i.e. VPP)
  13. Briefly, describe involvement in local safety-related organizations (i.e. ABC, ASSE, AGC, etc.)
  14. List other industry recognized safety awards received in 2017
  15. If you'd like to be considered for the Innovative Practice Award, a 1-2 page write-up shall be submitted to by February 7, 2018.
  16. Submit your company logo, preferably PNG file (uploaded directly to web form)

** Any application received after February 7th will be immediately disqualified from consideration
** Any fatality in 2017 will immediately disqualify a contractor from placing in their division/category.

The Process 

GBRIA member-sites were required to submit any contractor nominations for
consideration by end of business, January 24th, 2018 using SurveyMonkey. Once
nominations have been compiled, a list of nominees will be published on the GBRIA
website, where you'll also find a link to the online questionnaire that nominated contractors will complete. This application were completed by close of business February 7th, 2018, and only needs to be completed once, regardless of multiple nominations.

Members of the GBRIA Contractor Safety Awards Selection Committee are made up
of safety professionals and members of GBRIA’s Board of Directors. The
committee will meet on March 1, 2018 to review the contractor submissions and
select the winners of each division.

The Contractor Safety Excellence Awards Banquet will take place on Thursday, March 15th at Crowne Plaza: 4728 Constitution Ave. Baton Rouge, LA 70808. The event will begin with cocktails at 5:00 p.m. with the ceremony beginning at 6:00 p.m.

Register for the event online or contact Sue Leger at (225) 769-0596 Ext. 10!

Each application is sorted by category and placed into divisions I, II, or III by using the given work hours in 2017, with the exception for Category B. Divisions are then determined by the committee and may vary by category, depending on the range of nominee’s work hours. Incomplete or inaccurate applications can affect placement in your category or lead to disqualification completely.


Contractor Categories


Category A – General Construction & Maintenance
Category B – Civil Construction
                   – Commercial Construction
                   – Crane & Rigging
Category C – Specialty Trade Soft Crafts
                   – Specialty Trade Hard Crafts
Category D – Technical Support


Awards Presented


1st Place - Award of Excellence
2nd Place - Award of Merit
3rd Place - Award of Recognition
Innovative Practice Award
Hal G. Ginn Award