26th Annual
Safety Excellence Awards

L’Auberge Resort Baton Rouge

Thursday, April 14, 2022

2022 Safety Excellence Award Winners

General Construction and Maintenance

Division I:

1st Place:   RES Contractors

2nd Place:  Action Industries

3rd Place:  Claymar Construction

Division II:

1st Place:  Specialty Welding and Turnarounds

2nd Place: Turner Industrial Maintenance

3rd Place:  EXCEL

Division III:

1st Place: Brown & Root Industrial Services AND Turner Industries Group (tie)

3rd Place:  APTIM Services

Civil Construction

1st Place:  Structural

Commercial Construction

1st Place: The McDonnel Group

Crane & Rigging

1st Place: Deep South Crane & Rigging

Specialty Trade Hard Craft

Division I:

1st Place:  Midwest Cooling Tower Services

2nd Place: Master Vac Industrial Services

3rd Place:  James Machine Works

Division II:

1st Place:  Westgate

2nd Place: Thermon

Division III:

1st Place:   MMR Constructors

2nd Place:  ISC Constructors

3rd Place:  Ardent Services

Specialty Trade Soft Craft

Division I:

1st Place:   Specialized Industrial Maintenance

2nd Place:  Industrial Specialist

3rd Place:  Nextgen – The Bartlett Group

Division II:

1st Place: Turner Specialty Services

2nd Place: BrandSafway

Division III:

1st Place:  Brock Services

2nd Place: Excel Modular Scaffolding & Leasing Corporation

Technical Support

Division I:

1st Place:  BGS

2nd Place: Loadstar Product Handling Services

3rd Place:  Austin Fire Systems

Division II:

1st Place: Premium Inspection & Testing

2nd Place: Hoist & Crane Service Group

Division III:

1st Place: PSC Group

2nd Place: Total Safety U.S.

Community Service Award: EXCEL

Innovation Award: Alliance Safety Council 

Hal G. Ginn Award for Best Safety Performance Overall: Specialty Welding and Turnarounds


Banquet Details


General Registration


About the Awards Program

The Greater Baton Rouge Industry Alliance (GBRIA) Safety Excellence Awards have been a staple in the Baton Rouge area since 1996. The awards banquet is an opportunity for GBRIA member sites to nominate those companies who’ve performed work in their facilities and committed themselves to nothing less than safety excellence in their operations. To be nominated for such an award is a great honor and a show of recognition of the great strides contractors have made to keep their workers safe and families whole. 

In 1996, when the awards banquet concept was made a reality it was by the work of GBRIA’s Board of Directors, but specifically by Mr. Hal Ginn. It is because of Mr. G. Ginn’s vision for safe workplaces that we can come together and celebrate safety success stories. Thus, the creation of the coveted Hal G. Ginn Award. The finalist for this award comes from each division winner, and ultimately the company that shines the brightest takes home this award for excellence.


Action Industries

Apache Industrial Services

APTIM Services

Ardent Services

Austin Fire Systems




Brown & Root

Claymar Construction

Clean Harbors/HydroChemPSC

Deep South Crane & Rigging


Excel Modular Scaffolding & Leasing

Hoist & Crane Service Group

Industrial Specialist

ISC Constructors

James Machine Works

Loadstar Product Handling Services

Master Vac Industrial Services

Midwest Cooling Towers

MMR Constructors

Nextgen – The Bartlett Group

Premium Inspection & Testing

PSC Group

RES Contractors

Specialized Industrial Maintenance

Specialty Welding and Turnarounds

Spectrum Water Technology

Structural Preservation Systems

The McDonnel Group


Total Safety U.S.

Triad Electric & Controls

Turner Industrial Maintenance

Turner Industries Group

Turner Specialty Services


Worley Field Services

Zachry Industrial

Nominating Sites

Air Liquide


Americas Styrenics

CF Industries

Cornerstone Chemical

Delek – Krotz Springs Refinery


Ethos Energy

ExxonMobil Baton Rouge Complex

ExxonMobil BRPO

ExxonMobil Lubricants

ExxonMobil Plastics


Honeywell Baton Rouge

Koch Methanol Terminal




Olin St. Gabriel & Plaquemine

OxyChem Convent

Placid Refining


Shell Catalyst & Technologies

Shell Chemical Geismar

Shell Convent

Shintech Louisiana

SNF Flopam

Solvay USA

Syngenta Crop Protection


Westlake Geismar

Westlake Plaquemine

Contractor Categories

General Construction & Maintenance

Civil Construction

Commercial Construction

Crane & Rigging

Specialty Trade Soft Crafts

Specialty Trade Hard Crafts

Technical Support

2022 Awards

1st Place – Award of Excellence

2nd Place – Award of Merit

3rd Place – Award of Recognition

Innovation Award

Community Service Award

Hal G. Ginn Award


To be eligible for consideration at the 26th Annual GBRIA Safety Excellence Awards, contractors must:

  • Be nominated by a GBRIA member site by February 08, 2022.
  • Have a current GBRIA or Houston Business Roundtable (HBR) Contractor Safety Audit on file within the past three (3) years (January 01, 2019 – present) OR a third-party audit of a similar nature within the same time period. 
  • Complete the Nominated Contractor Questionnaire by the deadline.

Nominated companies will be required to submit the following data:

  • Company category
  • Company NAICS code
  • 2021-2019 man-hours worked 
  • 2021-2019 number of OSHA citations
  • 2021-2019 number of worker’s compensation claims
  • 2021-2019 OSHA recordable cases
  • 2021-2019 OSHA recordable rates
  • Most current Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) TRIR
  • Average for your NAICS code
  • Indication of which years data used for above TRIR
  • List partnerships your company has initiated or continued in 2021 (i.e. VPP)
  • Briefly, describe involvement in local safety-related organizations (i.e. ABC,
    ASSP, AGC, ESP, etc.)
  • List other industry-recognized safety awards received in 2021
  • Other questions that the GBRIA Safety, Health, and Security Committee may deem necessary

**If you’d like to be considered for the Community Service Award or the Innovation Award, a 1-2 page write-up shall be submitted to brandon@gbria.org by February 08, 2022.**

Submit your company logo, preferably PNG file

** Any application received after the deadline will be immediately disqualified from consideration
** Any fatality in 2021 will immediately disqualify a contractor from placing in their division/category.

Sponsorship & Registration

Available Soon...


Contact Brandon Smith for more information
225-769-0596 x17

Platinum Sponsor

$ 1950
  • Table for 10 - Premium Table Placement
  • Premium branding for your company throughout the event

Gold Sponsor

$ 1595
  • Table for 10
  • Company logo placed on signage, in program, and on PowerPoint

Silver Sponsor

$ 1025
  • 5 seats
  • Company logo placed in the program

Bronze Sponsor

$ 500
  • 2 seats
  • Company logo placed in the program

Speaker Sponsor

$ 1500


$ 129 - 1160
  • Table for 10 &
  • Individual Seats
  • Available
Copyright 2022 © All rights Reserved.